Skip nav

International Cooperation

European Research Area Groups (ERA Groups)

The European Research Area (ERA) aims to be a unified area for research, promoting the circulation of researchers, scientific knowledge and technology within the European Union.

To foster the development of the ERA, six public policy priorities were identified: more effective national research systems; optimal transnational cooperation and competition, including optimal transnational cooperation and competition and research infrastructures; an open labour market for researchers; gender equality and gender mainstreaming in research; optimal circulation, access to and transfer of scientific knowledge including knowledge circulation and open access; and international cooperation.

The European Research Area and Innovation Committee (ERAC) was created to provide advice to the Council and the European Commission on the ERA, its priorities and its governance. ERAC has two specific configurations, three permanent Standing Working Groups, and is articulated with the European Strategic Forum for Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) that, although being created before ERAC, was later included in the overall ERA governance structure.

High Level Group for Joint Programming (GPC)

The GPC advises the European Commission and the Council on the promotion of cooperation and alignment of strategies for R&D between Member-States, with the goal of helping overcome the European societal challenges, thus originating the notion of Joint Programming.

National Delegates:
Madalena Pereira (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)

Strategic Forum for International Cooperation (SFIC)

SFIC collects and analyses information about the international cooperation in R&D of the Member States, and analyses the characteristics and capacities of the national research and innovation systems of third countries, in order to provide advice to the European Commission and the Council on the establishment of new international collaborations.

National Delegates:
Maria João Maia (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)
Ana Quartin (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)

Standing Working Group on Open Science and Innovation (OSI)

OSI provides advice in the conception and implementation of policies and initiatives related with Open Science and Open Innovation, promoting the access and circulation of scientific knowledge, and its use in research and innovation. The topics are approached from an end-user perspective, whether they are researchers, research or education institutions, companies or citizens and society at large.

National Delegates:
António Bob Santos (Agência Nacional de Inovação)

Standing Working Group on Gender in Research and Innovation (GRI)

The specific objective of GRI is to identify and promote mutual learning about policies and strategies of gender equality in Research and Innovation, and support the gender-related data collection to support the production of reports at European level, thus providing advice to the European Commission and the Council on this subject.

National Delegates:
Sofia Morgado (Faculdade de Arquitetura, Universidade de Lisboa)
Maria João Sequeira (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)

Standing Working Group on Human Resources and Mobility (HRM)

HRM provides advice and supports the implementation of policies related to research careers and researcher mobility in the European Union, being involved in the creation of different initiatives and instruments such as the Code of Conduct for the Recruitment of Researchers, or the EURAXESS portal.

National Delegates:
Rui Munhá (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)
Gonçalo Zagalo (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)

European Strategic Forum for Research Infrastructures (ESFRI)

ESFRI is a forum where Member States, the European Commission and Associated countries define strategies to coordinate the European research infrastructures. ESFRI is responsible for the creation, update and monitoring of the ESFRI Roadmap, where research infrastructures of European interest, in different scientific areas, are identified, thus providing clear guidance for the public funding policies for these infrastructures. For more information visit FCT's dedicated page to ESFRI here.

National Delegates:
Marta Abrantes (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia)