Skip nav

Medalhas de Honra L’Oréal

Supported Prizes

2022 L'Oréal Portugal Honor Medals for Women in Science

Notice of the Call

Following the Protocol signed between the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia, IP (FCT), the L'Oréal Portugal and the National Commission of UNESCO in November 2003, a call for four L'Oréal Portugal Honor Medals for Women in Science award is open.


The L'Oréal Portugal Honor Medals for Women in Science intend to carry out advanced studies of scientific research, at the post-doctoral level, in universities or other Portuguese institutions of recognized merit, in the domain of Sciences, Engineering and Technologies for Health or for the Environment.

All applicants who have obtained a doctoral degree less than 5 years before the date of the opening of the call and who do not complete, by the end of the current year, over 35 years of age can apply.

For the purposes of the call, the limits indicated in point 4 are extended, depending on the number of children of the applicants (1 year for each child), provided the identification documents (scanned) of each child are included in the application.

Proposals involving activities that cause suffering to animals are not accepted, and it is up to the Jury to deliberate on this matter.


The unit value of the Medals of Honor is € 15,000 (fifteen thousand euros), awarded in a single instalment.

Submission of Applications

Applications containing original scientific research proposals must be submitted between 6 June 2022 and 17:00 (Lisbon time) on 16 September 2022 by completing the application form available here and include the following scanned documents:

  • Curriculum vitae with a detailed list of scientific publications
  • Letter of recommendation from the scientific advisor
  • Citizen Card or other legal identification document
  • PhD certificate
  • Children Citizen Card or other legal identification document, if applicable.

NOTE: Applications can be filled out in English or in Portuguese.


The evaluation will be carried out by a Jury set up for the purpose, consisting of scientists of recognized merit in the domain of the areas of the call.


See also Regulation

Previous Editions