Skip to main content

L'Oréal Portugal Medal of Honor for Women in Science honors four more Portuguese scientists

L'Oréal Medal Winners 2024

Four scientific projects have been distinguished this year by the L'Oréal Portugal Medals of Honor for Women in Science. This initiative by L'Oréal Portugal, in conjunction with the FCT and the UNESCO National Commission (CNU), has already honored 69 Portuguese women scientists.

The program, now in its 20th year, will support research by Laetitia Gaspar - Centre for Neuroscience and Cell Biology at the University of Coimbra; Cláudia Deus - Multidisciplinary Institute for Ageing at the University of Coimbra; Sara Silva Pereira - Biomedical Research Centre at the Portuguese Catholic University; and Mariana Osswald - Institute for Research and Innovation in Health at the University of Porto. Find out more about the winning projects here.

The four researchers, who already have PhDs and are aged between 31 and 37, will receive an individual prize of 15,000 euros, out of a total of 60,000 euros to support their four research projects. The selection was made by a scientific jury chaired by Alexandre Quintanilha, a retired full professor and physics researcher.

L'Oréal's support for women in science formally began in 1998 with a partnership with UNESCO, which gave rise to the L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program, which annually awards five renowned scientists, one from each region of the world.

This international program has inspired dozens of local initiatives aimed at young women and women researchers. It was in this context that the L'Oréal Portugal Medals of Honor for Women in Science were born in 2004.