Skip to main content

Maria Arménia Carrondo takes office as FCT President


Maria Armenia Carrondo is since 1998 Full Professor at the Institute of Chemical and Biological Technology (ITQB) at the New University of Lisbon, where she coordinates the Macromolecular Crystallography Unit and the Structural Genomics research group. She was Sub-Director of ITQB and Vice-Rector of the New University of Lisbon for Scientific Research, Planning and Institutional Development.

She graduated in Chemical Engineering from the Faculty of Engineering, University of Porto and obtained her PhD in Chemical Crystallography from Imperial College of Science and Technology, London. She was a lecturer at Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), where she was a member of the Board of Directors and obtained an aggregate degree in 1989. She created and led the research group on Chemical Crystallography of organic, inorganic and organometallic molecules at IST's Centre for Structural Chemistry. She has co-authored 154 scientific papers published in peer-reviewed journals with 4093 citations and an h-index of 38.

Maria Armenia Carrondo has extensive experience in the postgraduate area, having supervised 14 PhD students and 12 post-doctoral students. She has assumed responsibilities in the editorial area, being editor of the Journal of Biological Inorganic Chemistry since 2001.

Organized the process of Portugal's accession to the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF). Coordinated Portugal's accession to INSTRUCT, a European project of the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI). Coordinated studies on the scientific production of UNL and led the university's participation in projects within the European Higher Education Area, namely U-Map and U-Multirank.

He has participated in the evaluation of several international scientific institutions, namely the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Hamburg (Germany) and the Max-IV Laboratory in Lund (Sweden). He was a member of scientific evaluation committees for the European Research Council (ERC), the Academy of Finland and proposal evaluation committees for European synchrotrons, namely ESRF, EMBL-Hamburg and the Swiss Light Source (SLS).

She was nominated, in 2015, to integrate the group of 20 distinguished women in the exhibition "Women in Science" organized by Agência Ciência Viva. She was awarded several prizes, including the Câmara Pestana Prize awarded by the Câmara Pestana Institute of the University of Lisbon and the "Stimulus for Excellence" Prize awarded by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education. She was awarded "Medals of Honor" by the municipalities of Oeiras and Vila Nova de Famalicão and the European Medal in Bio-Inorganic Chemistry (EUROBIC Medal). She is a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) since 2000.