Skip to main content

Appointment of the National Council for Science, Technology and Innovation (CNCTI)

The members of the National Council for Science, Technology and Innovation (CNCTI) - an advisory body to the Government in the areas of science, technology and innovation - were appointed today. The first plenary meeting of CNCTI will take place on March 1st and will be held as part of the ongoing hearings for the public consultation of the Recovery and Resilience Plan (PRR).

The CNCTI works in close collaboration with the Minister of State, Economy and Digital Transition, Pedro Siza Vieira, and the Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Manuel Heitor, to develop, strengthen and sustain the national scientific and technological system, providing scientific advice and fostering the transversal and interministerial dialogue of science, technology and innovation policies. This new advisory body will also collaborate in parliamentary debates on science, technology and innovation, whenever requested by the Assembly of the Republic.

CNCTI will be chaired by José Manuel Mendonça, Full Professor at the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management at the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto and Chairman of the Board of Directors of INESC TEC.

The CNCTI plenary includes the presidents of FCT, ANI, and IAPMEI, along with 20 individuals of recognized merit in different areas of knowledge and the economy, including academic, scientific, and business leaders with a wide institutional and territorial diversity:

1. Aida Carvalho, CIMO, Inst. Politécnico de Bragança
2. Ângelo Ramalho, EFACEC, Porto
3. Arlindo Oliveira, IST-U Lisboa and INESC, Lisbon
4. Carlos Faro, BIOCANT, U Coimbra, Cantanhede
5. David Malta, Limmtherapeutics/AP Bio, Lisboa
6. Elvira Fortunato, UNL, CENIMAT-I3N, Almada
7. Gonçalo Quadros, Critical Software, Coimbra
8. Guido Du Boulay Villax, Hovione, Loures
9. Henrique Veiga Fernandes, Champalimaud Foundation, Lisbon
10. Isabel Furtado, TMG, Guimarães
11. Isabel Sousa Pinto, CIMAR, U Porto, Matosinhos
12. Joana Palha, ICVS, U Minho, Braga
13. João Barros, U Porto, Inst. Telecomunicações e Veniam, Porto
14. Joaquim Pedro Torres, AgroGlobal, Santarém
15. Luís Taborda Barata, UBI, Covilhã
16. Maria Mota, IMM e FMUL, Lisboa
17. Mónica Bettencourt, IGC, Oeiras
18. Pedro Adão e Silva, ISCTE; Colabor, Lisbon
19. Teresa Pinto Correia, Centro de Estudos Mediterrâneos, Évora
20. Vítor Neves, Colep, Oporto

The CNCTI operates in plenary and in autonomous commissions (namely the State Laboratories, the Associate Laboratories, the collaborative laboratories, the technological interface centers, and the clinical academic centers), as well as thematic commissions, in any area of knowledge, including researchers and entrepreneurs, to be indicated by the CNCTI plenary.